Jeju, Day 3: Hallasan

IMG_9432

My third and final full day on Jeju Island dawned with beautiful weather. No rainclouds were in sight, although the humidity was still high. I would be hiking Mount Halla, South Korea’s tallest mountain. Mount Halla is a massive volcano that forms the majority of Jeju Island and is often thought of as representing the island itself. In fact, it was eruptions from Mount Halla that built the island above sea level. Hallasan was active until about 25,000 years ago.

IMG_9327

Mount Halla, seen from a distance.

My journey would take me 19 kilometers up and down the mountain. The scenery along the way was beautiful and only got more so as I neared the top.

IMG_9331

The journey began at 6:45 in the morning.

IMG_9333

IMG_9334

The vegetation got more rugged higher up. I love the look of these white, windswept trees.

IMG_9345

IMG_9350

IMG_9353

Looking up towards the peak.

IMG_9357

A little friend joined me on my hike.

IMG_9365

IMG_9371

IMG_9373

Just as the peak was in sight, a heavy fog rolled in and engulfed the top of the mountain. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to see the peak but after about 20 minutes, the fog cleared and revealed Hallasan’s magnificent summit.

IMG_9379

The mist starts rolling in.

IMG_9381

Climbing to the peak.

IMG_9383

Up into the fog.

IMG_9390

IMG_9393

A stone marking the peak.

IMG_9398

The fog begins to clear.

IMG_9409

IMG_9410

IMG_9413

IMG_9418

A large volcanic crater tops the mountain and holds a crater lake (although this was dry when I was there). The Korean name of the lake translates to “White Deer Lake,” which comes from a legend about otherworldly men who descended from heaven to play with white deer.

IMG_9430

IMG_9431-Edit

The magnificent summit of Hallasan is revealed.

panorama2

The hike was exhausting and the trail back down seemed to go on forever so I was relieved when I finally emerged from the mountain path and hopped on a bus back to Jeju City in the north.

IMG_9441

Beginning the descent.

IMG_9455

panorama3

IMG_9457

Mountainside cactus.

IMG_9460

IMG_9462

Evidence of Hallasan’s powerful winds.

IMG_9466

IMG_9484

The summit seen from below.

IMG_9489

IMG_9496

IMG_9500

A beautiful valley I walked through on the way down.

IMG_9503

The next day I would take a plane back to the Korean mainland. I had a marvelous time in Jeju—what a truly stunning place!

IMG_9519

The view from the plane on the way back to the mainland.

Leave a Reply

