Jeju, Day 2: Jusangjeolli, Cheonjeyeon, & Jungmun

IMG_9267

My second day on Jeju Island began with a trip to the Jusangjeolli Cliffs. The defining feature of the cliffs are the stone pillars that were formed when Mount Halla erupted into the sea of Jungmun 14,000 to 25,000 years ago. The hexagonally shaped pillars were formed by the cooling and solidification of lava flows from the volcano. When the molten lava cooled, it contracted, splitting the rock into polygonal columns. The morning that I visited Jusangjeolli it started to rain quite hard and I had to race to take some pictures before my camera got too wet.

IMG_9194

IMG_9205

Jusangjeolli Cliffs.

IMG_9208

The remarkable pillars formed by cooling lava.

IMG_9211

IMG_9220

My next stop was Cheonjeyeon Falls (not to be confused with Cheonjiyeon). Cheonjeyeon consists of three tiers which feed into each other and then flow into the sea. The name means “God’s Pond,” which comes from a legend that seven fairies serving the King of Heaven came down to the pond on stairs of cloud and bathed in its clean waters. On my visit it had just rained so the air was particularly humid and a heavy mist hung over the falls. This added to the already magical atmosphere of the place.

IMG_9240

Heavy mist hung over the falls.

IMG_9244

The first tier of Cheonjeyeon Falls.

IMG_9246

IMG_9265

The second tier.

IMG_9258

IMG_9259

Lucky coins.

IMG_9272

IMG_9285

The third and final tier.

IMG_9290

Walking between tiers under a light rain.

My final stop for the day was Jungmun Beach. The water at this beach is somewhat more turbulent than most other Korean beaches I have been to, although tight security prevents swimmers from going out far enough to body surf. A particular section of the beach is designated for surfers, although I didn’t think the waves were quite big enough for good surfing. I still miss the long uncrowded beaches of North Carolina! Jungmun was still beautiful though. I particularly enjoyed its fine sand which had different shades of black, red, and grey mixed in with the white.

IMG_9294

A wacky building I saw on my way to Jungmun Beach.

IMG_9301

Locals looking for clams in the rocks near the beach.

IMG_9303

The beautiful water of Jungmun Beach.

IMG_9306

IMG_9311

The colorful sand of Jungmun.

IMG_9317

With the beach visit, my second full day in Jeju drew to a close. On my third day, I would hike the beautiful Mount Halla.

Leave a Reply

